Ragu’ di carne

“Ragu’ di Carne” in English and among the english public is better known as “Bolognese sauce”. The name comes from Bologna, a city in the Emilia Roomagna region. However, I don’t really like this name as every region in Italy has its own way and tradition of making a pasta sauce such as the ragu’. My inspiration in making this sauce, for instance, comes form Tuscany, as my granmother and my mother all comes from there. My granmother’s ragu’ I would (obviuosly) say that is one of the best ragu’ I ever tasted.

Mine is getting closer, but I need “few” more years of practice. I will get there, eventually.

INGREDIENTS:

1 celery finely chopped

1 carrot finely chopped

1 onion finely chopped

300g minced beef

1 small glass of red wine

750ml of Passata

Some tomato paste

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Salt and Pepper

How to do it:

Finely chop teh carrot, the celery and the onion. Eat some Extravirgin olive oil and put the chopped veggies in. Leave to cook until gold. Add the meat. Break up the meat with a wooden spoon and leave to cook for 5 minutes and add some red wine. Leave the wine to evaporate and finally add the passata sauce and the tomato paste. Add some salt and pepper, give it a stir and cover. Leave to cook for 40-50 minutes on low fire and give a stir from time to time.

The Ragu’ can be used with any shape of pasta, short or long, fresh or dry pasta.

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Ragu’ di carne

  1. Pingback: Gnocchi di Patate | stefanoberuschi

  2. I saw one book in which the author quite firmly aserted that a true Ragu alla Bolognese never contains garlic. I see yours doesn’t… is that just a personal preference or is that something fairly traditional? BTW … I always take firm assertions of that sort with a grain of salt🙂

    • I would say that is something fairly traditional..I got this recipe from my granmother and she never use garalic in the “soffritto” (carrot, onion and celery finely chopped), which is the base for many other dishes. I trust this recipe, as in Italy (most of the times) granmothers tips are much better than a cooking book.
      BTW..thanks for your comment.

  3. Pingback: Fresh Egg Pasta..a typical Sunday in Italy | stefanoberuschi

Leave a Reply

